David Burbage’s weblog

Politics in the Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead

  • About David Burbage

    David Burbage MBE was Leader of the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Council from 2007-2016. This blog : Promoted by Geoff Hill on behalf of David Burbage and all other Windsor and Maidenhead Conservative candidates, all of 2 Castle End Farm, Ruscombe, Berkshire RG10 9XQ
  • Meta

Just for security purposes

Posted by davidburbage on December 2, 2008

Crazy bank requests me today to remember an additional piece of information to access their online services. This brings to a grand total of 6 the number of items I need (if I play ball) to access their systems.

I need to know my

1- account number. I also need to remember that, if I type it in as per the statement, it won’t work because the bank statement is produced using some ancient mainframe software and forgets the leading zero giving a seven digit rather than an eight digit code.

2 – my sort code

3 – my online account code (six digits and two letters)

4 – my online password (some number of letters and digits)

5 – my online memorable word

6 – (NEW!) they want to remember a new 6 digit special number. After some pressing it turns out that this enables me to self-service over the phone. Now, if they had introduced a smart way of using the online password that would have been better…..

Leave a Reply

 
