David Burbage’s weblog

Politics in the Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead

  • About David Burbage

    David Burbage MBE was Leader of the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Council from 2007-2016. This blog : Promoted by Geoff Hill on behalf of David Burbage and all other Windsor and Maidenhead Conservative candidates, all of 2 Castle End Farm, Ruscombe, Berkshire RG10 9XQ
  • Meta

Advertiser Letters

Posted by davidburbage on October 23, 2008

There’s a good crop of letters in today’s Advertiser.

Irate and Concerned Parent – on Desborough’s litter. This is not the first time I’ve seen/heard complaints about Desborough School and litter; I have witnessed and have photos of litter on the school property which I brought to the attention of one of the Governors. I recently visited (as a parent) to look around the school and didn’t see any litter. A cynic might think that extra effort was put in on the day when the school is seeking to sell itself (like one cleans a house when you have visitors) but the fact that I have seen litter, the complainant to the paper saw litter and I have had another, separate recent report about the litter problem at Desborough leads me to the conclusion that it is some way from being perfect….

ME Lewington once again has a go at the Waterways in what appears to be a small minority crusade against the project.

Chris Raymond – writes about the attire of pupils at Desborough and seems resigned to failure. I’ve looked around a few schools in the last month and it is certainly interesting the percentage of boys who ‘do up their top button’. I have a confession – and an excuse. I never used to do up my top button at school or for years afterward because – and here’s the excuse – I have a rather thick neck, which I get from my mothers’ side of the family. Fortunately for my son, he’s got his mothers’ rather more svelte neck which means he hasn’t got any excuse not to do up his top button.

I always wore black shoes if I remember rightly and (usually) had my shirt tucked in. I didn’t drop litter either.

A Name and Address Supplied writes on PCT parking charges at St Marks. The PCT is now in the crazy position of having bought and installed the machines but now not using them, as well as having all of the points that are raised in the letter. Not ideal.

Leave a Reply

 
